Recent Blog Posts
New Police Accountability Measures Now in Effect in Connecticut
Law enforcement is a vital part of a productive and peaceful society. However, many people have expressed concerns over the use of excessive force by police officers in recent years. Although the issue of police brutality has been a fiercely discussed topic for decades, events that have occurred in the past several years have made the issue more relevant than ever. In an effort to increase police accountability and prevent the misuse of police authority, Connecticut House Bill 6004 was passed in 2020. Many of the elements of the new law have already gone into effect; however, some provisions only went into effect as of January 1, 2021. If you or a loved one has been affected by police brutality or was accused of a crime, a criminal defense lawyer may be able to help.
Police Held to High Standards Regarding Equality and Use of Force
What is the Age of Consent in Connecticut?
Most experts agree that a person’s brain is not fully developed until about age 25. Because children’s brains are still developing and they have not had the life experience needed to make informed choices about sex, children cannot consent to sexual activities by law. However, the “age of consent,” or age at which a person is considered old enough to consent to sex, varies from state to state. The relationship between the child and the person with whom they have a sexual relationship also affects the legality of the relationship. If you or a loved one has been accused of having sexual relations with someone under the age of consent, you may be arrested and charged with a sex crime.
Sexual Activity With Someone Under the Age of Consent
The age of consent in Connecticut is 16. This means that anyone aged 15 or below is unable to consent to sex in the eyes of the law. Any sexual activity between an adult and someone under 16 may lead to criminal charges and potential jail time. However, there are exceptions to this law. If a child is over age 13 and he or she has a sexual relationship with someone less than four years older than him or her, this may not be considered a crime. For example, a 17-year-old who has a sexual relationship with a 15-year-old is not breaking the law unless there are other unlawful factors such as the use of force. This so-called “Romeo and Juliet” exception exists to protect teenagers from criminal prosecution for having consensual sexual relationships with other teenagers. There are also situations in which having sexual relations with someone over the age of consent may be in violation of Connecticut law. For example, if a person over age 20 in a position of authority such as a coach or teacher has sex with someone under 18, he or she may be charged with statutory rape.
Can a Pretrial Diversion Program Help Me Avoid Jail Time?
If you or a loved one was arrested and charged with a criminal offense, you may be unsure of what will happen next. Will you or your loved one be sentenced to jail? Will a conviction prevent you or your loved one from working, going to school, or finding suitable housing? Fortunately, many criminal defendants qualify for a pretrial diversion program. These programs can help a defendant avoid jail time and a permanent criminal record.
Focusing on Rehabilitation, Not Punishment
Connecticut courts recognize that many individuals charged and convicted of crimes are good people who made a mistake. If you were charged with a criminal offense but the offense was not a particularly violent crime or a sex crime, you may be able to participate in a program designed to "rehabilitate" you and prevent you from reoffending. Often, these programs involve mental health treatment, substance abuse counseling, educational classes, vocational training, community service, drug testing, and meeting with a probation officer. If you are able to participate in and complete a diversion program, your criminal record may be expunged.
Will My Teenage Son or Daughter Be Tried as an Adult?
Teenagers sometimes make impulsive decisions that land them in legal trouble. If your son or daughter has been charged with a criminal offense, you may be very concerned about the consequences he or she will face. Minors are typically tried in juvenile court. Unlike adult court, juvenile courtrooms are closed to the public and juvenile records are sealed. In most cases, a juvenile offender may eventually petition to have his or her criminal record erased. Incarceration sentences are also typically shorter for juveniles than they are for adults, and juveniles are held in a juvenile detention center instead of an adult correctional facility. However, there are many cases in which a juvenile may be tried as an adult and subject to adult consequences.
How Can a Criminal Defense Lawyer Help Me Fight Criminal Charges?
If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges for theft, DUI, drug possession, assault, or any other offense, you may be lost and unsure of what to do. A criminal defense lawyer can provide the legal support and guidance you need during this confusing and overwhelming experience. Regardless of the type or severity of the crime you have been accused of, you have a constitutional right to legal assistance and representation from an attorney. If you are like many people, you may understand your right to an attorney, but do not know exactly how a criminal defense lawyer can help you. Read on to learn about the many ways in which a lawyer can assist you during a criminal proceeding.
What Should I Do If I Have Been Falsely Accused of Domestic Violence?
Being blamed for something you did not do can be infuriating, especially if the act you are accused of involves violence against a family or household member. If you have been accused of domestic violence, you may be unsure of how to handle the situation. Should you confront the abuser and try to defend yourself, or stay silent? Should you comply with a restraining order that was founded on lies, or fight it? If you have been accused of stalking, harassment, assault, or another crime related to domestic abuse, you could be facing significant criminal penalties. Contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer for help as soon as possible.
Never Confront the Person Who Accused You
When someone says something about you that is not true, it is only natural to want to set the record straight. However, if you have been accused of domestic violence, confronting the accuser may make your situation much worse. He or she may use even a nonviolent confrontation as an excuse to make further allegations of violence or threats. Do not call, text, visit, or otherwise communicate with the person who has accused you. Instead, reach out to a defense attorney with experience handling false claims of domestic violence to receive personalized guidance.
What Happens If You Are Caught with Marijuana in Connecticut?
Laws prohibiting the consumption and sale of marijuana are changing rapidly across the country. However, this does not mean that the substance is not subject to strict regulations. In Connecticut, marijuana has been decriminalized. Possession of less than a half-ounce of marijuana is punishable by a modest fine, and, if the offender is under age 21, a 60-day suspension of his or her driver’s license. However, possession of larger amounts of marijuana, transportation of the drug across state lines, or driving under the influence of marijuana can result in serious criminal consequences, including jail time.
Marijuana Possession May Be a Misdemeanor or Felony Offense
If you are caught with more than a half-ounce of marijuana, you face a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. However, you may be able to avoid jail time by participating in a pretrial diversion program. With this option, you may be required to undergo drug treatment, mental health counseling, community service, and/or ongoing drug testing.
UPDATE: Juvenile Detention in Connecticut
![]()
This is an update to an article originally posted October 20, 2020.
Connecticut lawmakers have been wrangling with ways to combat increased juvenile crime, especially with the increased rates of repeat motor vehicle theft. Earlier this year, Governor Ned Lamont signed into law Public Act 22-115 which brought changes to procedures and requirements in juvenile arrests, monitoring, and sentencing. That law went into effect on October 1st.
Under the new law, authorities must now bring a juvenile who has been arrested - as long as the juvenile is not being detained – in front of a judge within five business days of that arrest.
A juvenile can now be held up to eight hours (increased from six) if authorities are either trying to locate the youth’s parent or guardian or waiting on a detention order to be issued by a judge.
What Should You Do If You Are Accused of Sexual Assault in Connecticut?
Being accused of sexual assault may come as a shock, especially if you believe the accusation to be partly or completely fabricated. You may have never had sexual relations with your accuser or have believed that your encounter was consensual. Though prosecutors have the burden of proving your guilt, the mere accusation can be enough to tarnish your reputation and throw your life into turmoil. You need to fight back against false sexual assault charges and can help your defense by taking the following actions when you have been accused:
- Find a Good Defense Lawyer: Whenever you face criminal charges, your first step should be to contact a criminal defense lawyer. What you say and do following your arrest can become evidence in a criminal trial. A criminal defense lawyer will speak on your behalf and make sure that you are treated fairly by the law.
Moratorium on Evictions and Foreclosures Has Been Extended to the End of the Year
Connecticut families, like the rest of the country, have been deeply affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. Many individuals have had their work hours significantly reduced while others were laid off permanently. Parents have had to find alternative childcare or were forced to stay home from work to watch their children. The financial implications of this virus continue to be wide-reaching. Fortunately, the federal government has taken steps to alleviate at least some of the financial stress caused by the lockdowns. The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) recently announced extended suspensions on real estate owned (REO) evictions and single-family foreclosures.
Financial Relief for Homeowners
The COVID-19 pandemic has reduced the financial resources of millions of families throughout the United States and across the globe. Many Americans have spent sleepless nights worrying about being unable to pay their bills and losing their homes due to foreclosure. Some even feared homelessness. In response to the significant financial harm caused by the pandemic and associated lockdowns, both state and federal government agencies have instituted changes designed to provide financial relief.

